Jun 302016

The Academy

The Academy President, Ms. Cheryl Boone Isaacs announced that membership invitations have been sent to 683 distinguished filmmakers, artists and executives who represent the best in the global film community, and who have made a lasting impact on movie fans everywhere.

Ms. Cheryl Boone Isaacs: “We’re proud to welcome these new members to the Academy, and know they view this as an opportunity and not just an invitation, a mission and not just a membership.
This class continues our long-term commitment to welcoming extraordinary talent reflective of those working in film today. We encourage the larger creative community to open its doors wider, and create opportunities for anyone interested in working in this incredible and storied industry.”

Some film industry insiders hope that the large number of new and diverse Academy members will right some of the perceived past wrongs of the established membership.